Exercise to Achievement

In 2014, parents, teachers, and community organizations brought their passion for healthy kids and active schools together with us to form the Exercise to Achievement™ program, which will start its fifth year in 2018.


What is Exercise to Achievement™?

This is an eight week program that helps kids train for one of our triathlons while focusing on the mental and emotional benefits of being active.  Educators serve as our coaches, and lead groups of elementary and middle school-aged kids through lessons of swimming, biking, running, and strength conditioning.  Each week, we focus on a different life skill, and use group and mindfulness activities to internalize these skills.  Finally, we also incorporate a nutrition topic and game-based handout. You can learn more about our curriculum below.


Registration will be open starting February 12th for our Waunakee training programs.  Students will receive flyers at school, and you are welcome to contact the head coach to pick one up as well.  Any schools that do not have a link to online registration will also receive a paper registration form with their packet.

Confirmed 2018 Spring Program Sites

Please note there is a transaction fee to register online

Goal Race

Head Coach



Reg Deadline

Start Date

Arboretum Waunakee Lori Armstrong larmstrong@waunakee.k12.wi.us 3-4 3/16 3/27
CH Bird Sun Prairie April & Mick Krueger aslawle@sunprairieschools.org
Elm Lawn Waunakee Alexa Nommensen anommensen@mcpasd.k12.wi.us 3-4 3/9 3/19
Heritage Waunakee Johnathon Gustafson jgustafson@waunakee.k12.wi.us 2-4 3/16 3/27
Lake View Waunakee Tom Qualls tiqualls@madison.k12.wi.us 2-5 3/9 3/20
Leopold Sun Prairie Kacey Thompson kfthompson@madison.k12.wi.us
Lincoln Sun Prairie Anthony Smith ajsmithbroad@@madison.k12.wi.us
Lindbergh Waunakee Jay Matthews jmatthews@madison.k12.wi.us K-5 3/9 3/22
Mendota Waunakee Danny Kraemer, Jess Walker jawalker@madison.k12.wi.us TBD 3/9 TBD
Midvale (Lite program) Sun Prairie Lisa Peterson, Moira Farrell lpeterson@madison.k12.wi.us
Northside – Middleton Waunakee Christine Zellner czellner@mcpasd.k12.wi.us
Prairie Athletic Club Sun Prairie Katie Horner K.horner@prairieathletic.com
Rome Corners Intermediate Sun Prairie Mark Getz magetz@oregonsd.net
Sandburg Sun Prairie Jerry Beld jbeld@madison.k12.wi.us
Sunset Ridge (Lite Program) Sun Prairie Tara Franklin tfranklin@mcpasd.k12.wi.us
Toki Waunakee Chandra Anderson, Cody Spooner ckanderson@madison.k12.wi.us
6-8 3/9 3/20
Van Hise Sun Prairie/Middleton Jane Koval jkoval@madison.k12.wi.us
Waunakee Intermediate Waunakee Jason Johnson jjohnson@waunakee.k12.wi.us 5-6 3/16 3/27
West Middleton Waunakee Michelle Schuh mschuh@mcpasd.k12.wi.us 3-4 3/16 4/3
Westside – Sun Prairie Sun Prairie TBD
Wright Middle Waunakee Mary Birmingham mbirmingham@madison.k12.wi.us 6-8 3/9 3/20

Which schools are eligible? Can my school start one?

Any elementary, middle school, or community center/health club that has the appropriate staffing can start a program site, though we are full for 2018.

This year, we will continue to offer two different options for the Exercise to Achievement program – full and lite.

The Lite program contains the same running, nutrition, and mindfulness curriculum, but meets once weekly (vs. twice) and does not include swim or bike lessons.  For a comparison of these programs, you can review this document.

Interested sites should be able to provide the following resources:

  • Two staff employed by the school for eight weeks between March and June depending on the race your school will complete
  • Staff should be prepared to commit up to 6 hours per person per week for full programs, and 3 hours/week for Lite programs
  • Staff should be present on race day – Waunakee is May 19th, and Sun Prairie is June 23rd

For more information on which version might be best for your school or community center, please contact our Program Coordinator, Melissa, at mlindemann@tri4schools.org.

Are there any programs offered during the summer?

Site Name Goal Race Head Coach Email Ages Deadline Start Date
YMCA Pabst Farms Tri-ing for Children’s Triathlon – 7/28 Heather Olwig & Laura Meier kwendorff@oconymca.org 7-14 6/1 6/11

What will my child learn?

Our curriculum has been compiled by experts such as physical education teachers, triathlon/swimming coaches, healthcare professionals, the Red Cross (swimming), Safe Routes to School (biking), and the Wisconsin Bike Federation.  All lessons focus on safety first, as well as pace, endurance, hydration, skill development, and basic nutrition.

We partner with our friends at UnityPoint Health – Meriter and SSM Healthcare on our nutritional content and activities.

Aside from the physical aspects of our curriculum, we have one character skill component per week to help kids internalize their goals.  We also have nutritional handouts and games, as well as a pre-race visualization leading up to race day!  We are honored to partner with Elevate Wellness and little om BIG OM for mindfulness and meditation curriculum.

Our social/emotional topics are:

  • Courage
  • Perseverance
  • Respect
  • Sportsmanship
  • Judgment
  • Enthusiasm
  • Integrity
  • Confidence


How can I find out more?

For more on the program or to get involved, please fill our our Contact Form, or call us at 608-845-9879.

E2A Lite Overview – 2018

Exercise to Achievement Overview – 2018

All rights reserved. This material or any portion thereof may not be reproduced or used in any manner whatsoever without the express written permission of the publisher except for the use of brief quotations in a book review.


  1. A Sneak Peek: Exercise to Achievement | Tri 4 SchoolsTri 4 Schools - April 26, 2014

    […] Exercise to Achievement […]

  2. Tri 4 Schools: Finally a race registration fee you can feel good about. | frundraise - August 6, 2014

    […] Frundraise allows athletes to support Tri 4 Schools while you are leading your own healthy lifestyle and training for an event. The money that you raise would go towards allowing Katie and the rest of the Tri 4 Schools crew to continue putting on kid-friendly events, as well as growing their reach to more schools and kids. Also, this past year Tri 4 Schools has started an after school program called Exercise to Achievement. […]

  3. Tri Like A Mother :: Tri 4 Schools | Madison Moms Blog - September 17, 2015

    […] Verona), two fun runs (Haunted Hustle Kids Run on October 24th), and an after-school program called Exercise to Achievement. Personally, that is my favorite piece of our organization, as we focus on helping kids develop […]

  4. Achievement for All - Tri 4 Schools Adaptive Triathlons and Events - August 10, 2017

    […] Exercise to Achievement […]

Thank you to our program sponsors!

Presenting Sponsor

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Bronze Sponsors